Alabama Law

Studio 10 Interview about Alabama Law


 

Below is the actual official document from the State of Alabama concerning the new Auto Insurance Law that went into effect on January 1, 2013. Since all drivers will now be checked electronically for up-to-date auto insurance coverage, and with substantial penalties for those who do not have auto liability insurance, it is extremely important for everyone to be aware of this new law and it’s regulations.

 

Alabama’s Online Insurance Verification System (OIVS)

 

Mandatory Liability Insurance

• Chapter 7A, title 32 Code of Alabama

– No person shall operate, register, or maintain registration of a motor vehicle designed to be used on a public highway unless it is covered by a liability insurance policy.
– Exempt vehicles include:

  • Trailers
  • Vehicles owned by the US, State or any political or governmental subdivision thereof
  • Implements of husbandry
  • Vehicles owned by a licensed motor vehicle dealer
  • Interstate commercial motor vehicles
  • Vehicles covered by commercial automobile insurance or blanket liability insurance policy

– Law requires vehicle operators to provide evidence of insurance to any law enforcement officer during a traffic stop or accident.
– Evidence of insurance includes the following:

  • Insurance card (most common)
  • temporary insurance card
  • declaration page
  • certificate of insurance
  • insurance bond
  • rental agreement
  • combination of proof of purchase of the vehicle within the previous 20 days and current insurance card for the vehicle being replaced

• The MLI law is enforced by mailing questionnaires to randomly selected registrants

• Failure to provide evidence of insurance results in registration suspension

• Reinstatement fee must be paid and evidence of insurance must be presented to licensing official to remove suspension

 

An owner or operator convicted of a violation may be fined up to $500 for the first violation
and up to $1000 for a second or later violation and/or a six-month driver’s license suspension.

In addition to the above, the vehicle registration will be suspended, and the owner must pay a $200 Reinstatement Fee for the first violation and a $400 Fee for any subsequent violation.

It is extremely important now to make sure that you have your liability insurance in place.

OIVS

– Beginning January 1, 2013, insurance may be verified utilizing an OIVS (Act 2011-688).

– Law enforcement, license plate issuing officials and DOR will immediately verify insurance with the registrant’s insurance company using the internet.

– The insurance company’s NAIC number, policy number, VIN and verification date is sent to the insurer and a “confirmed” or “unconfirmed” response is received.

– Insurance policy information has been prepopulated in the vehicle registration database (quarterly books of business)

– County license plate issuing officials will use OIVS to verify insurance during registration.

– Law enforcement will use OIVS to verify insurance during traffic stops and accidents.

– DOR will use OIVS to verify insurance when it receives notice of insurance convictions, DL suspensions and “unconfirmed” responses.

– DOR will also periodically verify insurance on “confirmed” responses.

– If evidence of insurance cannot be verified using OIVS, insurance may be verified upon presentation of insurance evidence

 Alabama Liability Law

Archives

Contact Us


© 2018 Insurall Insurance - Terms | Privacy Policy | Sitemap
Website Design by Starflow Solutions